Catherine Anaya on Muck Rack

Catherine Anaya

Scottsdale, AZ
Radio Show Host, The Women's Eye


Three-time Emmy Award-winning journalist CATHERINE ANAYA anchors CBS 5 News weekdays at 5 p.m., 5:30 p.m., 6:30 p.m. and 10 pm.
She joined CBS 5 News in January 2003. The Arizona Associated Press Broadcasters Association named Catherine 'Anchor of the Year' for 2003.

Catherine is a versatile journalist in both broadcast and print. She currently writes a monthly award-winning column for [Latino Perspectives Magazine] (
In May 2007,

Catherine won the first place award for Magazine commentary/analysis from the Arizona Press Club for her LPM magazine column.
She previously wrote an award-winning monthly parenting column for Los Angeles Family Magazine.

In October of 2004, Catherine proudly co-anchored a presidential debate special for CBS 5 News with the legendary Walter Cronkite.

In May of 2009 she was also honored to have been asked to deliver the Arizona State University, Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication Convocation Address.

Prior to CBS 5 News, Catherine freelanced as a Special Correspondent for the television daily newsmagazine "Extra." Before that, she spent four years at KCBS-TV, in Los Angeles where she anchored the morning news, co-hosted an afternoon women's talk show and earned an Emmy Award nomination for her reporting from El Salvador following the aftermath of Hurricane Mitch.

CBS 5 News marks Catherine's return to the valley. She anchored the weekday morning and noon newscasts for KPNX-TV from 1992 to 1998. During her six years there, Catherine won her first Emmy Award for reporting. She also worked as a health reporter and helped launch the award-winning breast cancer awareness program Buddy Check 12. Before that, Catherine anchored the news in South Bend, Ind., and McAllen, Texas.

Catherine is also a proud mother of two, a motivational speaker, founder of the [Sisterhood of Super Women] ( an avid runner. She's run 10 marathons since 2005 – including the Boston Marathon in 2007, 2010 and 2012.