Barossa & Light Herald

Newspaper
The Barossa and Light Herald started as the Kapunda Herald in 1864 by Charles Barton of the Tanunda Deutsche Zeitung. Partners James Elliott and James Scandrett were the printers, and just two months after the newspaper was established they became sole owners. For almost 90 years the Kapunda herald was a quality country newspaper, printing news reports from the myriad of tiny settlements stretching across the lower and mid-north of South Australia. Between 1872 and 1894 the Kapunda herald was published twice weekly. From 1903 until 1911 a monthly pictorial supplement containing unique photographs of local towns and people, with articles, was included. In September 1923 Leslie Tilbrook took over the newspaper. Tilbrook was the son and nephew of the founding owners of the Northern argus at Clare. He joined the Kapunda herald staff in 1911, working his way up to become manager and editor in 1917. Under him the newspaper continued its strong focus on reporting news of Kapunda and neighbouring towns. Source

Outlet Details

Scope Local
Language English
Country Australia
UVMs Request pricing
Frequency Weekly
Days Published Wed