Is this you? As a journalist, you can create a free Muck Rack account to customize your profile, list your contact preferences, and upload a portfolio of your best work.
Claim your profile
Articles by Jayde Anderson
What is a Photoshop Layer Mask (And How to Use It)
A Photoshop Layer Mask allows you to conceal specific parts of a layer’s visibility/effect. Masks attach to a specific layer or group. When it comes to layer masks, black conceals and white reveals. So, when you have a layer mask selected, use the brush tool with black or white to either conceal or reveal the layer it’s attached to. In this tutorial, I’ll explain what I know about Photoshop Layer Masks, and how to use them.
How to Use Liquify Tool in Photoshop (7-Step Guide)
The Liquify Tool is used to change the shape of anything in Photoshop. Like all of Photoshop’s tools, it is extremely helpful and easy to get the hang of. First, convert your layer into a smart object so that our filter becomes a smart filter. Go to Filter > Liquify and use the first tool on the left to click and drag on your image. Settings for the brush can be found on the right in the Properties panel. Hello, internet sleuth! My name is Jayde, and I am here today as your Photoshop coach.
How to Use Smart Object in Photoshop
A Smart Object is something you can create in Photoshop to contain multiple images, layers, shapes, or text. It’s a sort of nesting doll feature in Photoshop that allows you to combine multiple layers of different sorts into one “packaged” layer. By merging these into a Smart Object, you can add filters and completely transform them while retaining the ability to edit these compressed layers individually in the future.
4 Quick & Easy Ways to Curve Text in Photoshop
With your Text layer selected, you can use the Free Transform Tool (keyboard shortcut Ctrl/Command + T) to curve text. In the action bar, you can also find Warp options to arch or curve text. Hello! I’m Jayde, and I’ve been using Photoshop for many years to create fantasy photo manipulations and cartoon characters in the form of digital puppets. In this article, I’ll show you how to curve text in Photoshop. This program makes it easy to do all kinds of things with text.
4 Ways to Change Opacity in Photoshop
There are multiple ways to change the Opacity in Photoshop. The quickest way is to adjust the slider beside Opacity in the Layer’s Panel. Greetings to you, internet reader. I’m glad you found this tutorial to aid you in your Photoshop quest. I’m Jayde, and I’ve been creating in Photoshop since 2009. In this article, I’ll show you how to change the Opacity of a layer, including how to work with blending modes, fill, and text as well. The Opacity can be adjusted in the Layers panel or the fx box.
How to Use Smart Object in Photoshop Original
A Smart Object is something you can create in Photoshop to contain multiple images, layers, shapes, or text. It’s a sort of nesting doll feature in Photoshop that allows you to combine multiple layers of different sorts into one “packaged” layer. By merging these into a Smart Object, you can add filters and completely transform them while retaining the ability to edit these compressed layers individually in the future.
4 Ways to Change Opacity in Photoshop Original
There are multiple ways to change the Opacity in Photoshop. The quickest way is to adjust the slider beside Opacity in the Layer’s Panel. Greetings to you, internet reader. I’m glad you found this tutorial to aid you in your Photoshop quest. I’m Jayde, and I’ve been creating in Photoshop since 2009. In this article, I’ll show you how to change the Opacity of a layer, including how to work with blending modes, fill, and text as well. The Opacity can be adjusted in the Layers panel or the fx box.
How to Use Liquify Tool in Photoshop (7-Step Guide) Original
The Liquify Tool is used to change the shape of anything in Photoshop. Like all of Photoshop’s tools, it is extremely helpful and easy to get the hang of. First, convert your layer into a smart object so that our filter becomes a smart filter. Go to Filter > Liquify and use the first tool on the left to click and drag on your image. Settings for the brush can be found on the right in the Properties panel. Hello, internet sleuth! My name is Jayde, and I am here today as your Photoshop coach.
4 Quick & Easy Ways to Curve Text in Photoshop
With your Text layer selected, you can use the Free Transform Tool (keyboard shortcut Ctrl/Command + T) to curve text. In the action bar, you can also find Warp options to arch or curve text. Hello! I’m Jayde, and I’ve been using Photoshop for many years to create fantasy photo manipulations and cartoon characters in the form of digital puppets. In this article, I’ll show you how to curve text in Photoshop. This program makes it easy to do all kinds of things with text.
2 Ways to Change the Color of a Logo in Photoshop Original
You can quickly change the color of your logo in Photoshop using Color Overlay or going to Image > Adjustments > Replace Color. Once you select a color with the eyedropper tool, click on the colored square that says Result and select a new color to replace it with. Hello and welcome! Thank you for joining me along your journey to Photoshop mastery.
3 Quick Ways to Change Canvas Size in Photoshop Original
Once you’ve opened Photoshop with a document or new file, you can change your canvas size in the Properties panel. Toggle the link on if you want to retain the same width-to-height ratio. Alternatively, you can change your canvas size by using the Crop tool. Click and drag the box handles to alter the size of your canvas. Hi, I’m Jayde. Today I’ll be showing you how to change the canvas size of your Photoshop file, along with some other features and settings you may find helpful to you.
4 Ways to Make an Image Black and White in Photoshop Original
You can make a great black-and-white image in Photoshop by adding an adjustment layer for the Gradient Map. Click on the gradient bar in the Properties panel to adjust the color ratio and smoothness. Alternatively, you may add an adjustment layer for Black and White. There are other ways to make an image black and white, and it’s best to learn all these methods to increase your Photoshop editing skills. Kind greetings to you, fellow Photoshopian.
How to Warp Text in Adobe Photoshop (4-Step Guide) Original
You can warp text in Photoshop by right-clicking on the layer in the Layers Panel to Convert to Smart Object, then, using the shortcut Ctrl/Command + T to activate Free Transform. Right-click inside the box that appears around the text and right-click to select Warp. Warping is as simple as clicking and dragging any of the grab points that appear, or even in between them. Hello! I’m Jayde, and today I will show you how to warp text in Photoshop.
4 Ways to Straighten an Image in Photoshop (Example) Original
Straighten your image in Photoshop by selecting the Crop tool. Check off Content Aware Fill in the action bar, then click on the Straighten icon. Click and drag a line from one side of the horizon to the other. With your image straightened, you have an opportunity to increase the size of your photo, which will be generated. Click and drag the borders outwards if you like, then press Enter.
6 Super Easy Ways to Duplicate Layers in Photoshop
There are many ways to duplicate layers or selections in Photoshop. For example, with a layer selected, hold Option/Alt and click and drag the layer to create a copy. You may also use the shortcut Ctrl/Command + J or click and drag your layer down to the New Layer symbol to duplicate a layer. With any selection, you may use the shortcut Ctrl/Command + C to copy and Ctrl/Command + V to paste it. You may right-click on a layer panel layer to select Duplicate Layer.
How to Invert Selection in Photoshop Original
You can invert your selection within a layer or mask by using the keyboard shortcut Ctrl/Command + I or by going to Image > Adjustments > Invert. Alternatively, you can inverse a selection using the keyboard shortcut Ctrl/Command + Shift + I, or go to the overhead menu and choose Select > Inverse. Note that Inverse and Invert aren’t exactly the same. Hey, there! My name is Jayde. In this tutorial, I’m going to cover how to Invert and Inverse selections in Photoshop.
4 Ways to Sharpen an Image in Photoshop (Examples) Original
You can sharpen an image in Photoshop using the Sharpen tool. You can also use Filters and Effects to sharpen or eliminate the blur of an image. Hello! I’m Jayde, and today I will show you how to sharpen an image in Photoshop by going over four methods. The first is by using the Sharpen tool. The other three involve different filters, one of these being Gaussian Blur.
3 Ways to Save Photoshop File as JPEG (Step-by-Step) Original
You can save a Photoshop file as a JPEG by going to File > Save a Copy. If you’re working with an older version of Photoshop, you may be able to save a Photoshop file as a JPEG by going to File > Save As. Or go to File > Export > Export As which gives you different save options. Hello! My name is Jayde, and I am glad you’re here. Today we’ll be going over something simple, yet not quite so.
2 Ways to Mirror an Image in Photoshop (Examples)
You can mirror an image in Photoshop by duplicating it and using Free Transform to move the reference point to the mirrored side and flip the copy horizontally or vertically. To expand your visible canvas, go to Image > Reveal All. Hello! I am glad you’re here and managed to find my tutorial in the vast, metaphorical sea of information (false and true) that we call the internet. I started working in Photoshop many years ago, just to make fantasy images to use on an online RPG.
3 Easy Ways to Smooth or Feather Edges in Photoshop
There are many ways to smooth and feather edges in Photoshop. First, you may want to try using the Blur tool. Evenly blur all the edges of your image or layer first by creating a layer mask of your object, then go to Select and Blur to edit the Feathering, Contrast, and Edge Shift. Hello! I’m Jayde, and Photoshop is my favorite design program.
How to Deselect in Adobe Photoshop (4 Simple Steps)
You can deselect in Photoshop by using the keyboard shortcut Ctrl/Command + D. Alternatively, go to the overhead menu and choose Select > Deselect. You do need to use one of the selection tools, such as the Marquee, Lasso, or Quick Selection Tool to make a selection. Hello! I’m Jayde, and today I will show you how to deselect a selection in Photoshop.
How to Make & Save a Brush in Photoshop (Tutorials)
You can make a brush in Photoshop with any selected brush settings, a doodle, a design, or an image. Simply have your brush selected and changed, or select your black or black and white design and go to Edit > Define Brush Preset and name it whatever you’d like. You can save a brush or brush set as an abr file by going to Edit > Preset Manager, selecting them, and clicking Save Set. Hello! I’m Jayde, and I never get tired of Photoshop.
How to Blur Background in Photoshop
You can blur the background of an image in Photoshop by using the Blur tool or a layer mask and filter. This involves copying the image layer and selecting your subject before using the blur tool or layer mask. Hello! I’m Jayde, I started learning Photoshop in 2009, but I am continually learning and impressed by the new features Adobe adds to the program. In this tutorial, I’ll show you multiple ways to blur the background of an image in Photoshop.
2 Ways to Resize a Layer in Photoshop (with Example)
You can resize a layer by selecting it in the layers panel and using the shortcut Ctrl/Command + T to activate the Free Transform tool. In this mode, a box with corners will appear over your layer, making it easy to resize. You can also go to Edit > Transform > Scale. Hold Shift as you click and drag to squash or distort your layer. Hello! I’m Jayde. In this tutorial, I’ll show you different ways to resize a layer in Photoshop, so that you may make your creative designs a reality.
How to Draw a Line in Photoshop
You can draw a line in Photoshop by using the Line Tool, Paintbrush Tool, and Pen Tool. Simply click and drag to draw a line. Hold Shift to keep the line straight horizontally or vertically. Hello! I’m Jayde, and I’ve been using Photoshop for many years to create perfected photographs, sometimes I need to add lines to my final piece. In this article, I’ll show you how to draw a line in Photoshop. You can use a few different tools and methods. Choose which of these will help you complete your project.
2 Ways to Add/Insert an Image in Photoshop (Example)
Create a new file and go to File > Place Embedded. Click and drag an image saved on your desktop into a Photoshop file. Combine two images by clicking and dragging one image into the other. Hello! I’m Jayde. I’m glad you’ve found your way to my Photoshop tutorial. I enjoy making cartoon character vectors and editing my own photographs. Whenever you order a burger off a fast food menu and find that it doesn’t look anything like its photo, that’s because of wonderful programs like Photoshop.
How to Crop an Image in Photoshop
You can activate the crop tool by using the shortcut C. The Crop tool is the 4th option down on the vertical toolbar. Once activated, this tool will give you a resizable box, with a grayed-out area outside it. Position the crop box where you’d like your image/canvas to end. Use the shortcut Enter to accept the adjustment you’ve made and your image/canvas will be cropped. You can also double-click inside the box to make your changes official.
How to Increase Image Resolution in Photoshop
You can increase the resolution of your image in Photoshop by going to Edit > Image Size. Change the size of the image to pixels and increase the resolution until the longest side of your image is 3000 pixels. Hello! I’m Jayde, and today I’m going to show you how to increase the resolution of an image in Photoshop, without making it too blurry or pixelated. Key Takeaways In some cases, the best thing to do is retake the image or swap it out for one with a better resolution.
Easy Guide to Create a Clipping Mask in Photoshop
You can create a clipping mask from the Layers panel, with the top layer of two selected, you can also go to Layer > Create Clipping Mask or use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl + Alt + G (Command + Option + G for Mac users). Hello! I’m Jayde, and my dad started teaching me Photoshop in 2009 when I could use it to make fantasy horse photos called “Pro Pics” for an online game called Horseland. The game has since retired, but I have not. I create art in Photoshop every day.
How to Add & Remove Shadow in Photoshop (Step-by-Step)
You can add shadows in Photoshop using layer masks, paint, and opacity adjustments. You can greatly reduce or even remove shadows by copying them onto their own layers, changing the blending mode, adding a layer mask and a Curve adjustment. Hello! I’m Jayde, and I started using Photoshop to make fantastical horse photos for players to display on their virtual horses.
How to Make a Gradient in Photoshop
You can create a gradient by using the Gradient tool to click and drag a line in the direction you want the gradient to go. To change the gradient settings, open the Gradient Editor by clicking on the gradient preview in the tool’s settings across the top. You can save your created gradient(s) by typing in a name and clicking on the “New” button. Hello! I’m Jayde, and I started using Photoshop years ago to create fantasy images of my online game characters.
How to Use the Pen Tool in Photoshop
With the Pen tool selected, click to add a point on your screen. Click a second time for a second point, and so on. Click and drag to create handlebars that affect the curve of your shape or path. You can also adjust the anchor points and handlebars with the Pen tool while holding Ctrl/Command, which utilizes the Direct Selection tool. Hello! I’m Jayde, and I’ve used the Pen tool to create my own cartoon characters, symbols, and holiday cards.
How to Make a Pattern in Photoshop
You can make a pattern out of any vector, jpeg, or digital artwork in Photoshop. Go to Edit > Define Pattern. If you want to preview your pattern, you can go to View > Pattern Preview. In this article, I’ll show you how to create a pattern from scratch and convert it into a pattern in Photoshop. I’ll be using a combination of vector shapes. Key Takeaways Go to View > Pattern Preview to make changes and see how your finished pattern will look.
5 Ways to Smooth Skin in Photoshop (Step-by-Step)
The quickest way to remove blemishes and smooth skin is to use Photoshop’s AI Generative Fill. You can also do it yourself with the use of filters and layer masks. Photoshop makes it extremely easy to perfect anyone’s skin. Let’s dive into this tutorial and build our photo editing skills. Key Takeaways Select the face/shoulders/skin, without the eyes, eyebrows, nostrils, or lips.
How to Vectorize an Image in Photoshop
You can change a regular image file into a vector in Photoshop by following some easy steps. This makes it possible to turn any photo into a cartoon or vector. After applying a few filters, the image is smoothed over and ready to be changed into vector layers. In this article, I’ll show you a detailed guide on how to vectorize an image in Photoshop. This is extremely helpful for creating quality graphic designs with JPEG, PNG, and more.
How to Invert Colors in Photoshop
You can invert the colors in a layer or image by going to Image > Adjustments > Invert. You can make a selection with any selection tool if there’s a part of the photo you want to leave untouched. You can switch the foreground and background swatches by using the shortcut X. In this article, I’ll show you how to invert the colors of your images or layers in Photoshop. Key Takeaways The shortcut to permanently invert the color of an image is Ctrl/Command + I.
How to Use Clone Stamp in Photoshop
The Clone Stamp tool is one of my favorite tools to use in Photoshop. To use the Clone Stamp Tool, select it from the toolbar, hold Alt/Option, and click on the area you want the brush to use as its source. You can change settings for the stamp on the bar across the top. Go to Window > Clone Source for more tool settings. In this article, I’ll show you how to use the Clone Stamp tool in Photoshop.
How to Whiten Teeth in Photoshop
You can easily whiten teeth in Photoshop by adding a Hue Adjustment layer to target and lessen yellow shades. To avoid affecting the whole photo, simply use the shortcut Ctrl/Command + I to fill the mask in with black, which conceals. Use the Brush with white, which reveals, paint over the teeth within the mask. In this article, I’ll show you how to whiten teeth in Photoshop and I’ll be using a layer mask to target a specific area within the photo where I don’t want to see any yellow tones.
How to Edit Text in Photoshop
You can edit text in a variety of ways by going to Window > Character. With the text layer selected, add effects to it by clicking the fx symbol on the bottom right. To edit or warp the text nondestructively, right-click on the layer to Create a Smart Object. Hello! I’m Jayde, and I’ve been using Photoshop for many years to create fantasy photo manipulations. In this article, I’ll show you how to edit text in Photoshop. Text is fully editable, with countless possibilities.
How to Photoshop Someone Into a Picture
You can edit someone into an image by selecting, scaling, positioning, and blending them into the desired picture. Hello! I’m Jayde, and I’ve been using Photoshop for many years to create fantasy photo manipulations, my own cartoon characters in the form of digital puppets, and edit family photos. Photoshop is an amazing photo editing software that is well worth your time and investment. In this article, I’ll show you how to add a person to a photo.
2 Ways to Extend Background in Photoshop (Pro Tips)
You can extend the background of a photo in Photoshop using Content Aware Scale, Content Aware Fill, or copying what is already in the image. You can extend the canvas of a file in Photoshop by going to Edit > Canvas Size. Hello! I’m Jayde, and I’ve been using Photoshop for many years to create fantasy photo manipulations, my own cartoon characters in the form of digital puppets, and edit family photos. Extending image background is a basic task that you’d be using quite often in Photoshop.
How to Blend Images in Photoshop
Blending images in Photoshop is an art in and of itself. There are many tools you can use to blend image layers in Photoshop. You can blend layers and target specific areas using layer masks and adjustment layers. Hello! I’m Jayde, and I’ve been using Photoshop for many years to create fantasy photo manipulations, my own cartoon characters in the form of digital puppets, and edit family photos. Photoshop is an amazing photo editing software that is well worth your time and investment.
2 Easy Ways to Merge Layers in Photoshop (Examples)
You can merge layers by first selecting two or more sequential layers. Right-click on the selected layers and click “Merge Layers.” If you want to have more than one vector shape on the same layer without rasterizing them, select them and right-click on “Convert Smart Object.” Hello! I’m Jayde, and I’ve been using Photoshop for many years to create fantasy photo manipulations, my own cartoon characters in the form of digital puppets, and edit family photos.
5 Ways to Remove an Object or Selection in Photoshop
Use the Object Selection tool to select the object you’d like to remove, then go to Edit > Content-Aware Fill. This should fill in the selected area with something similar to what is around or behind it. Hello! I’m Jayde, and I’ve been using Photoshop for many years to create fancy photo manipulations, my own cartoon characters in the form of digital puppets, and edit family photos. Photoshop is an amazing photo editing software that is well worth your time and investment.
How to Remove Background & Make It Transparent in Photoshop
To remove the background of an image in Photoshop, you can use Quick Action or go to Select > Select and Mask, then click on “Select Subject.” Photoshop will do its best to separate what it sees as the subject from the background. Hello! I’m Jayde, and I’ve been using Adobe Photoshop for many years to edit family photos, create fantasy photo manipulations, and my own cartoon characters in the form of a digital puppet.
3 Ways to Change or Replace a Color in Photoshop
Changing the color of any selection in Photoshop can be done by creating one or more layer masks. With your subject selected, create a hue and adjustment layer and change the hue to any color you like. Hello! I’m Jayde, and I’ve been using Photoshop for many years to edit family photos, create fantasy photo manipulations, and my own cartoon characters in the form of a digital puppet. In this article, I’ll cover three ways to change the color of something in Photoshop.
Show More
loading
Actions
Is this you?
As a journalist, you can create a free Muck Rack account to customize your profile, list your contact preferences, and upload a portfolio of your best work.Get in touch with Jayde
Contact Jayde, search articles and posts on X, monitor coverage, and track replies from one place.
Learn more about Muck Rack